Rejoining a node to a 2 node cluster on Windows Platform – Yet another learning experience

There was a situation encountered a couple of days ago where a node (second node) had to rejoin to a 2 node cluster environment on Windows 2008 platform. The Windows OS admin team rebuilt the 2 node after OS crash without DBAs being informed and requested the DBA team to (more...)

Introducing Java EE 7 – Live Webcast


Wednesday, June 12, 2013 / Thursday, June 13, 2013 

Two opportunities to come together with the Java community, chat with experts, and explore Java EE 7: 
9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. London or 
9 p.m. PT / 12 a.m. ET (more...)

Expert Oralce RAC 12c – upcoming book

Here is the TOC for upcoming Expert Oracle RAC 12c book, which is slated to release sometime in August 2013 (of course subject to Oracle 12c announcement), published by Apress.


Table of contents

  1. Overview of Oracle RAC
  2. Clusterware Management and Troubleshooting
  3. RAC Operational Practices
  4. RAC New Features
  5. Storage and ASM (more...)

A tricky standby database situation

A very tricky and interesting situation came-up this morning while configuring one of the standby databases of over 1.5TB sized . Whilst the database is being cloned to the DR site as part of the DUPLICATE..ACTIVE DATABASE command, which actually took more than 1.5 day, a couple of (more...)

New Page – Data Guard

A quick update about the new page. I have created a new page (tab) 'Data Guard' on my blog to share/discuss all data guard related issues that we confronted during our extensive DR setup and testing. The objective is to record all the errors/issues of data guard setup and how (more...)

Its data guard time for the team yet again

Just a very quick update about my upcoming tasks and what I will be doing for the next 3 weeks time. It is indeed going to be a super busy rest of the month for the entire team as over 41 RAC databases data guard configuration need to be done. (more...)

Things to be considerd before/after the OS patch deployment

The objective of this summary is to emphasize the importance of considering things like verifying the patch compatibility and  relinking the home after the underlying Operating System (OS) patch deployment in any Oracle environment. I would like to share an incident (a little story) that we encountered a few days (more...)