Database Applications Development – OraNA :: Oracle News Aggregator http://orana.info Read and monitor Oracle related blogs and news sources, all in one place. Mon, 16 Jul 2018 23:39:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.7 Oracle Forms Migration http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/07/oracle-forms-migration-to-APEX.html Wed, 11 Jul 2018 12:32:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=515795f719a3c335d36a9a011ff9576d Optimistic Locking 7: Restartability https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/07/09/optimistic-locking-7-restartability/ Mon, 09 Jul 2018 15:23:53 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1972 Upgrading UEK kernel on Oracle Linux 7 https://geraldonit.com/2018/07/09/upgrading-uek-kernel-on-oracle-linux-7/ Mon, 09 Jul 2018 07:00:58 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=1085 ORDER BY in CTEs garantiert keine Sortierung http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/07/order-by-in-ctes-garantiert-keine.html Fri, 06 Jul 2018 06:00:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=6c6f45f4c80235fdd8ab7574ed349bf5 Docker on Fedora 27 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/07/05/docker-on-fedora-27/ Fri, 06 Jul 2018 01:36:59 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10869 Clustering Faktor und Index Rebuild http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/07/clustering-faktor-und-index-rebuild.html Mon, 02 Jul 2018 15:31:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=a60a17e62c7fbbec34c607669dd59e09 #Apress “Practical Enterprise Data Lake Insights” – Published! https://sbhoracle.wordpress.com/2018/06/30/apress-practical-enterprise-data-lake-insights-published/ Fri, 29 Jun 2018 19:26:07 +0000 http://sbhoracle.wordpress.com/?p=809 EBR – Part 10: Data Dictionary Views for Editioning Views http://db-oriented.com/2018/06/29/ebr-part-10-data-dictionary-views-for-editioning-views/ Fri, 29 Jun 2018 15:37:04 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1384 Harness the Power of Data in a Big Data Lake https://sbhoracle.wordpress.com/2018/06/28/harness-the-power-of-data-in-a-big-data-lake/ Thu, 28 Jun 2018 04:32:35 +0000 http://sbhoracle.wordpress.com/?p=805 CSV from CLOB with field enclosures https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/24/csv-from-clob-with-field-enclosures/ Sun, 24 Jun 2018 05:00:35 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1949 Free Oracle Learning Tools http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/free-oracle-learning-tools.html Mon, 18 Jun 2018 13:48:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=2326356b66244c78c3f22c6849b24253 Extract from CLOB with JSON objects https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/15/extract-from-clob-with-json-objects/ Fri, 15 Jun 2018 05:00:26 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1930 Community Recognition at Kscope18 http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/community-recognition-at-kscope18.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:17:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=7c2c7f155faa4db67789f75ce83fa693 Oracle XE 18c and #OracleRAD http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/oracle-xe-18c-and-oraclerad.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:16:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=1ef35142844b7db117fdcc4c81f41432 ANSI dates make life easier http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/ansi-dates-make-life-easier.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:16:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=17af730c5776ef192714fbe9cc524641 The faces of Oracle APEX http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/the-faces-of-oracle-apex.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:16:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=82cbda038406806634d69b025f17386d Things I learned while not at Kscope18 http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/06/things-i-learned-while-not-at-kscope18.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 15:15:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=67e4465c9f2fa4b385eaff4b54589568 Extract CSV from CLOB with JSON arrays https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/14/extract-csv-from-clob-with-json-arrays/ Thu, 14 Jun 2018 05:00:36 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1918 Read CLOBs fast with less memory https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/13/read-clobs-fast-with-less-memory/ Wed, 13 Jun 2018 04:00:54 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1910 dbms_random zur Generierung (ziemlich) eindeutiger Werte http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/06/dbmsrandom-zur-generierung-ziemlich.html Tue, 12 Jun 2018 06:17:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=63ec7c6040fbef7322273d94a9e36973 Generate JOINs among related tables https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/12/generate-joins-among-related-tables/ Tue, 12 Jun 2018 05:00:14 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1905 Creating an Oracle Database Vagrant box https://geraldonit.com/2018/06/11/creating-an-oracle-database-vagrant-box/ Mon, 11 Jun 2018 07:00:58 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2858 Split a string again and again https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/11/split-a-string-again-and-again/ Mon, 11 Jun 2018 05:00:21 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1895 Neue Oracle VM Appliance http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/06/neue-oracle-vm-appliance.html Fri, 08 Jun 2018 09:16:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=6d4e5465ddfa7a5286ad43f2c84f791d Foreign keys between two tables https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/06/foreign-keys-between-two-tables/ Wed, 06 Jun 2018 07:19:22 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1888 Splitting Strings: a New Champion! https://stewashton.wordpress.com/2018/06/05/splitting-strings-a-new-champion/ Tue, 05 Jun 2018 19:57:28 +0000 http://stewashton.wordpress.com/?p=1880 Wrong Results with IOT, Added Column and Secondary Index http://db-oriented.com/2018/06/05/wrong-results-with-iot-added-column-and-secondary-index/ Tue, 05 Jun 2018 04:41:23 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1381 The Single Responsibility principle http://radiofreetooting.blogspot.com/2018/05/the-single-responsibility-principle.html Thu, 31 May 2018 21:14:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=f7e47d7e9b545ebd6f7b2c2d5bb07c52 Database Requirements for Modern Development https://geraldonit.com/2018/05/28/database-requirements-for-modern-development/ Mon, 28 May 2018 07:00:37 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2981 EBR – Part 9: Adding a New Column http://db-oriented.com/2018/05/25/ebr-part-9-adding-a-new-column/ Fri, 25 May 2018 06:30:08 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1364 EBR – Part 8: The Last Planned Downtime http://db-oriented.com/2018/05/23/ebr-part-8-the-last-planned-downtime/ Wed, 23 May 2018 09:05:54 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1358 EBR – Part 7: Editioning Views http://db-oriented.com/2018/05/21/ebr-part-7-editioning-views/ Mon, 21 May 2018 18:04:34 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1347 Ruby GEM Mongo http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/17/ruby-gem-mongo/ Thu, 17 May 2018 20:00:42 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10857 Index Skip Scan bei führender Spalte mit vielen unterschiedlichen Werten http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/05/index-skip-scan-bei-fuhrender-spalte.html Thu, 17 May 2018 07:21:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=8265cb970810c030b984a772a989c3b4 Cassandra on Fedora 27 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/17/cassandra-on-fedora-27/ Thu, 17 May 2018 06:38:58 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10844 MongoDB on Fedora 27 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/16/mongodb-on-fedora-27/ Thu, 17 May 2018 00:05:37 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10839 MySQL on Fedora 27 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/16/mysql-on-fedora-27/ Wed, 16 May 2018 08:13:51 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10833 Transposing data using UNPIVOT http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/05/transposing-data-using-oracle-sql-unpivot.html Tue, 15 May 2018 13:59:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=00df569295596ecb7ed5ab8ce04f1fc7 Filtering outliers from Oracle APEX activity logs http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/05/filtering-outliers-from-oracle-apex-workspace-activity-logs.html Mon, 14 May 2018 14:18:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=5aa7f8ca09a7bc5d0e790bc5b0f119d8 Dynamische Linesize-Einstellung für sqlplus http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/05/dynamische-linesize-einstellung-fur.html Mon, 14 May 2018 12:57:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=6e555ec07dbf91ccb4aac6ac3700ccb1 Creating an Oracle Rest Data Services Docker image https://geraldonit.com/2018/05/14/creating-an-oracle-rest-data-services-docker-image/ Mon, 14 May 2018 07:00:43 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2986 PostgreSQL Calling File http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/14/postgresql-calling-file/ Mon, 14 May 2018 06:19:26 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10828 Setup PostgreSQL http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/13/setup-postgresql/ Sun, 13 May 2018 07:01:19 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10810 Fedora Install PostgreSQL http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/05/12/fedora-install-postgresql/ Sun, 13 May 2018 04:58:56 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10807 Developing for the Oracle Database https://orastory.wordpress.com/2018/05/09/developing-for-the-oracle-database/ Wed, 09 May 2018 14:49:20 +0000 http://orastory.wordpress.com/?p=2347 Customized help text in APEX http://oradbdev.mathiasmagnusson.com/2018/05/09/customized-help-text-in-apex/ Wed, 09 May 2018 12:00:19 +0000 http://oradbdev.mathiasmagnusson.com/?p=896 The Performance of the FIRST and LAST Functions http://db-oriented.com/2018/05/04/the-performance-of-the-first-and-last-functions/ Fri, 04 May 2018 15:49:47 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1342 Enabling SFTP-only access on Linux https://geraldonit.com/2018/05/02/enabling-sftp-only-access-on-linux/ Wed, 02 May 2018 12:00:19 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2942 Corrupting characters – How to get invalid byte values stored in strings http://www.kibeha.dk/2018/05/corrupting-characters-how-to-get.html Tue, 01 May 2018 15:18:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=ee07755681951db414ceb1511b9d6b5f EBR – Part 6: Editionable and Non-Editionable, Editioned and Non-Editioned http://db-oriented.com/2018/04/29/ebr-part-6-editionable-and-non-editionable-editioned-and-non-editioned/ Sat, 28 Apr 2018 21:46:08 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1332 Fedora User Manager http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/04/24/fedora-user-manager/ Wed, 25 Apr 2018 04:05:38 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10801 Logger Snippets for VS Code http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/04/logger-snippets-for-vs-code.html Tue, 24 Apr 2018 05:58:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=ac025c91a521be8494550b08a451ac76 On Switching Code Editors http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/04/on-switching-code-editors.html Mon, 23 Apr 2018 14:08:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=9856a90d443799e7f2e1404e0a182763 COLLECT INTO inside a Cursor Definition? http://db-oriented.com/2018/04/21/collect-into-inside-a-cursor-definition/ Sat, 21 Apr 2018 06:28:13 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1320 Fedora Install unixODBC http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/2018/04/20/fedora-install-unixodbc/ Sat, 21 Apr 2018 04:43:34 +0000 http://blog.mclaughlinsoftware.com/?p=10796 install.packages('RODBC') It failed with the following library dependency: checking for unistd.h... yes checking sql.h usability... no checking sql.h presence... no checking for sql.h... no checking sqlext.h usability... no checking sqlext.h presence... no checking for sqlext.h... no […]]]> Excessive Locking when Dropping a Table in 11g http://db-oriented.com/2018/04/18/excessive-locking-when-dropping-a-table-in-11g/ Wed, 18 Apr 2018 14:30:36 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1315 Keine Empfehlung mehr für System Statistics http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/04/keine-empfehlung-mehr-fur-system.html Tue, 17 Apr 2018 14:26:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=8ee5349c6440b4fc57f479afc295780c A Single Query with Many Filter Combinations – Part 3 http://db-oriented.com/2018/04/17/a-single-query-with-many-filter-combinations-part-3/ Mon, 16 Apr 2018 21:44:27 +0000 http://db-oriented.com/?p=1307 Data Warrior #HappyDance! Guess who joined @Snowflakedb https://kentgraziano.com/2018/04/15/data-warrior-happydance-guess-who-joined-snowflakedb/ Sun, 15 Apr 2018 23:00:00 +0000 http://kentgraziano.com/?p=4911 UKOUG Northern Technology Summit 2018 http://radiofreetooting.blogspot.com/2018/04/ukoug-northern-technology-summit-2018.html Sun, 15 Apr 2018 07:55:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=94dfcf748892c93c2f333960fd9d4895 Histogramm-Probleme mit EXP/IMP in Oracle 12 http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/04/histogramm-probleme-mit-expimp-in.html Wed, 11 Apr 2018 11:21:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=85e88205d0ed63f891fb6cb5811b0855 Potentielle Performance-Probleme bei match_recognize http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/04/potentielle-performance-probleme-bei.html Thu, 05 Apr 2018 12:15:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=39372df454e860de406135667f47a5f9 Optimizing the Performance & Scalability of Java Applications that use an RDBMS http://db360.blogspot.com/2018/03/optimizing-performance-scalability-of.html Thu, 29 Mar 2018 17:40:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=df7cd98f6514c6fb6845501a74be62f0 Deploying a Kubernetes cluster with Vagrant on Virtual Box https://geraldonit.com/2018/03/26/deploying-a-kubernetes-cluster-with-vagrant-on-virtual-box/ Mon, 26 Mar 2018 15:00:28 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2917 Announcing the results of the Oracle Dev Gym SQL Championship for 2017 http://www.kibeha.dk/2018/03/announcing-results-of-oracle-dev-gym.html Thu, 22 Mar 2018 15:24:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=1a1d4a3e8b7ae4b2f22c79785f94701f Local Partitioned Indexes mit postgres 11 http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/03/local-partitioned-indexes-mit-postgres.html Thu, 22 Mar 2018 08:11:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=cc40a5dcd7c11166a2bf79e17792d137 Manually installing a Maven artifact in your local repository https://geraldonit.com/2018/03/19/manually-installing-a-maven-artifact-in-your-local-repository/ Mon, 19 Mar 2018 15:59:04 +0000 http://geraldonit.com/?p=2871 Thoughts about the APEX_UTIL package https://ora-00001.blogspot.com/2018/03/thoughts-about-the-apex-util-package.html Mon, 19 Mar 2018 12:35:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=fe449ebb6aacad75bac04b9085e5d7be Postgres: GIN-Indizes und Vacuum http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/03/postgres-gin-indizes-und-vacuum.html Mon, 12 Mar 2018 13:22:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=5d4d4b3730e5d02aa24717aecd26e427 Emulating touch devices for Oracle APEX http://www.grassroots-oracle.com/2018/03/emulating-touch-devices-for-oracle-apex.html Mon, 12 Mar 2018 13:10:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=2167922379a44a7dfef5c394c3f31921 APEX Authentication with Microsoft account http://ora-00001.blogspot.com/2018/02/apex-authentication-with-microsoft-account.html Sun, 25 Feb 2018 13:33:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=0308b8f1b9d18ddc7f1e7bafdedfded0 Using the Slack webhook API from PL/SQL http://ora-00001.blogspot.com/2018/02/using-slack-webhook-api-from-plsql.html Wed, 21 Feb 2018 19:56:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=b466d879dfa134e8e47c57cc96de6b6f Filter predicates with NVL on mandatory columns using the index http://rwijk.blogspot.com/2018/02/filter-predicates-with-nvl-on-mandatory.html Mon, 19 Feb 2018 21:43:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=658aa0b6a5331a76054b68996a06db5f 95% of the time. Clearly this query was the culprit. The query selects […]]]> SQL Magic Squares – or Why the Optimizer does not like Magic http://www.kibeha.dk/2018/02/sql-magic-squares-or-why-optimizer-does.html Tue, 13 Feb 2018 20:49:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=0d04dc03cae921a2832b74dedf2a5a93 Ergänzungen zu coalesce und NVL http://martinpreiss.blogspot.com/2018/02/erganzungen-zu-coalesce-und-nvl.html Tue, 13 Feb 2018 14:17:00 +0000 http://orana.info/?guid=fd50618cdec1efb5f6ef0ee0685743cc